Colorado marijuana laws.
State medical marijuana laws.
Colorado Amendment 20 to the state constitution outlines the Colorado marijuana laws.
The states medical marijuana laws went into effect Nov, 7 2000 with a 54% victory. UPDATE: New laws are in place for legal marijuana in Colorado, each 21 year old resident of the state can hold and ounce of marijuana.
How to get medical marijuana.
Colorado medical marijuana qualifications.
To qualify for medical marijuana in Colorado you must be seen by a physician and diagnosed with a debilitating condition.
How to get medical marijuana in Colorado.
Medical marijuana requirements.
If you have received a doctor’s recommendation suggesting you might benefit from medical marijuana then your next step is to register with state Department of Public Health and Environment.
You must fill out all necessary applications which they provide, and have all your Identification Cards handy and pay the required non refundable $90 application fee. If your applications are incomplete you will be denied, so lets get it right the first time.
Once you are registered you can then go to your local dispensary to get your medical marijuana, or you can grow it on your own until your medical marijuana card expires. You will need to renew your card when that day comes.
How Colorado marijuana laws effect you.
Medical marijuana quantities.
If you have a doctor’s recommendation for medical marijuana and are registered with the state then you are exempt from prosecution.
If you find yourself caught with marijuana and you don’t have a medical marijuana card, then you can still use affirmative defense.
This means that if you are in compliance with the law having less than two usable ounces and six plants 3 of which that aren’t mature you can say it is for medical purposes.
Affirmative defense also serves for protection for patients being charged for possessing greater amounts medically necessary.
Other state marijuana laws.